About me

Personal

I’m the youngest of two children and grew up in the Rotterdam area, the Netherlands. I used to be that kid in class always with my nose hovering over a piece of paper, drawing doodles, and characters. When I was 13 I started playing around with Paint Shop Pro and quickly transitioned to Photoshop. At the age of 14, I created my first ever website via GeoCities and my digital interest peaked from there.

Fast forward, I studied IT / Network management, worked a year at Samsung as a Network Administrator. I figured, this isn’t what I was meant to be doing, so I continued to hone my digital skills by studying Communication & Multimedia Design. Best decision I made up until that point.

During my studies, I created a business with two fellow students and we had a lot of fun and experience working on several different projects. We went our separate ways after finishing uni though and eventually closed the business.

I’ve played around a lot of different digital topics, each as interesting as the next! It’s no surprise I’ve found my partner through the internet as well. We were dating for 2 years until we both decided to migrate to the most neutral country in the world, Switzerland.

I’ve now been living together with my partner for almost 2 years, and we have our wonderful baby boy since November 2019.

Life is good, and the calm mindset that comes from being where you’re supposed to be, helps me function better in my day to day activities.

Professional

From very young I’ve been interested in computers and anything digitally related. It started with developing/altering chat bots for hotmail chatboxes back in 2002. In that same year I created my first ever website on GeoCities, and I haven’t lost interest in the web since.

Wanting to become more technical, I started studying IT Management and Network Management. My first full-time position was as a Network Administrator for Samsung, which taught me I need something more digital, web-based instead of devOps. After a little over a year I left Samsung to pursue a new career and started studying BAsc Communication & Multimedia Design.

During my studies I’ve held my own company with two partners, and functioned as UX/UI designer mostly. After finishing university, our paths grew apart and we ended up shutting down our company. After this I’ve done some design works for smaller companies. Mostly not really worth mentioning but I kept busy.

In March 2016 I applied for a job as a designer at O-Products. Not knowing the company it was quite a shock to find out it was a wholesaler in adult toys. Even though the original job posting said designer, I found myself more pushed towards the maintenance and upkeep of the b2b&b2c e-Commerce platforms than any design. But I liked it nevertheless!

After some nice projects, guiding some interns to their graduations and the migration of our main b2b platform to a Magento 2.x platform, including an ERP integration, I was asked to work as a consultant for a Romanian development agency.

Having some previous sales experience as a sales promotor during my student time (part time job) I figured I could do this as well.

I’ve managed to grow the brand awareness a lot and generated a database with over 500 good leads / potential customers for the business.

I’ve held over 24 keynote presentations across the country by aligning ourselves with be-united business meetings as a partner. We also reached out to the UK market by attending and speaking on savant events, broadening the international outreach of the brand even more.

The company had some setbacks and couldn’t keep me aboard anymore. And thus I went back into e-Commerce / online marketing at Fortune Factory. It was a lovely bunch of people and I love working in teams, but my time got cut short there because I went to migrate to Switzerland to be with the woman I love.

Presently I’ve been working as a product owner at wtv. since December 2018, and combining all my previous digital knowledge into one job, managing projects, off-shore developers, QA teams and designers, it’s really fulfilling and challenging!

As I’m an eternal student, I am now following courses on:
– HTML5/CSS (refreshing knowledge)
– JavaScript
– Node.JS
– Python

This to better help me communicate and assist our off-shore developers where needed.

Hobby’s

Photography

Scouting

Traveling

Games